News Brief

Jammu-Kashmir Election Result: Big Losses For Omar Abdullah, Mehbooba Mufti; BJP Set To Win Two Seats

Nishtha Anushree

Jun 04, 2024, 04:26 PM | Updated 04:26 PM IST

Omar Abdullah and Mehbooba Mufti.
Omar Abdullah and Mehbooba Mufti.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is set to win two seats in Jammu and Kashmir with incumbent MPs Jitendra Singh leading in Udhampur and Jugal Kishore Sharma in Jammu.

Omar Abdullah's JK National Conference is set to win Anantnag-Rajouri and Srinagar. However, Abdullah himself is losing in Baramulla to an Independent by around 2 lakh votes.

Similarly, the People's Democratic Party's (PDP) Mehbooba Mufti is set to lose in Anantnag-Rajouri by a margin of around 2.8 lakh votes.

The two leaders have been opposing the abrogation of Article 370 by the Narendra Modi government in 2019 and their loss signifies that people have rejected their stance.

Nishtha Anushree is Senior Sub-editor at Swarajya. She tweets at @nishthaanushree.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.