News Brief

Three Independent MLAs Who Backed BJP In Rajya Sabha Elections Now Party Candidates In Himachal Assembly Bypolls

Kuldeep Negi

Jun 14, 2024, 09:21 AM | Updated 09:21 AM IST

Himachal Assembly bypolls are scheduled to be held on 10 July
Himachal Assembly bypolls are scheduled to be held on 10 July

Three independent Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs) from Himachal Pradesh, who resigned from the state assembly and joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) earlier this year, are set to contest in the upcoming by-elections.

The BJP has announced them as the candidates for the bypolls, slated for 10 July.

These three independent MLAs include Ashish Sharma (Hamirpur), Hoshiyar Singh (Dehra), and K L Thakur (Nalagarh).

These MLAs, along with six Congress rebels, had cast their votes in favour of BJP candidate Harsh Mahajan during the Rajya Sabha elections on 27 February, leading to Mahajan's victory.

Following their support for the BJP, the three independent MLAs resigned from the Vidhan Sabha on 22 March.

However, their resignations were only accepted by Speaker Kuldeep Singh Pathania on 3 June, after the after the by-elections to the six seats, vacated by the Congress rebels, and Lok Sabha elections were held.

The Congress had secured four out of the six seats in the recent bypolls, while the BJP won the remaining two, as declared on June 4.

Despite this setback, the BJP has decided to take a calculated risk by fielding the three independent MLAs who recently joined its ranks.

Both the BJP and Congress have already appointed in-charge officials for the assembly bypolls on these three seats.

K L Thakur has served as an MLA from Nalagarh twice—first in 2012 on a BJP ticket and later in 2022 as an Independent.

Hoshiyar Singh is also a two-time MLA from Dehra, winning the assembly elections in 2017 and 2022 as an Independent.

Ashish Sharma, on the other hand, is a first-time MLA from Hamirpur.

Also Read: 'No Prayers, Qurbani On Roads': Yogi Adityanath Issues Strict Guidelines for Eid Celebrations In Uttar Pradesh

Kuldeep is Senior Editor (Newsroom) at Swarajya. He tweets at @kaydnegi.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.