BJP-Led Government Scrapes Through Floor Test In Manipur AssemblyChief Minister N Biren Singh

The Bharatiya Janata Party-led government in Manipur has won the floor test in the state assembly, Times of India has reported. According to the daily, as many as 33 MLAs voted in the favour of N Biren Singh-led government in the state.

On 16 March, Singh, a former Congressman who joined the BJP only in October last year, was sworn in as the first BJP Chief Minister of Manipur. National People’s Party’s Y Joykumar also took oath as Deputy Chief Minister the same day.

Winning 21 seats, the BJP had claimed it has the support of 33 legislators in the 60-member Manipur assembly. It needed support from only 31 MLAs for a majority.

The Congress, which won the most seats, 28, could not gather the support of three more legislators to make the 31-seat majority mark. It has accused the BJP of using "money power" to form the government in Goa and Manipur.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber