News Brief

Modi Cabinet 3.0 To Have Four Ministers From Chandrababu Naidu's TDP, Two From Nitish Kumar's JD(U): Reports

Swarajya Staff

Jun 09, 2024, 10:19 AM | Updated 10:19 AM IST

Chandrababu Naidu, Narendra Modi and Nitish Kumar.
Chandrababu Naidu, Narendra Modi and Nitish Kumar.

Chandrababu Naidu's TDP is set to receive four portfolios in Prime Minister Narendra Modi's new cabinet, with the JDU getting two berths according to a report from NDTV.

The likely TDP candidates for the cabinet are Ram Mohan Naidu, Harish Balayogi, and Daggumalla Prasad.

For the JDU, senior leaders Lalan Singh and Ram Nath Thakur's names have been proposed.

This decision has emerged from a recent National Democratic Alliance (NDA) meeting to finalise cabinet positions ahead of the government's swearing-in ceremony tomorrow (10 June).

TDP, after securing 16 Lok Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh, requested four portfolios and the parliamentary speaker position. JD(U), with 12 seats had sought two cabinet positions.

Kumar and Naidu have emerged as pivotal figures for NDA this time as BJP won only 240 seats, short of the 272 needed for a majority. The NDA, however, secured a total of 293 seats in the 543-member Lok Sabha.

Prime Minister Modi's third consecutive term will match India's first prime minister Jawaharlal Nehru's record. Leaders from neighboring countries such as Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Maldives, and Mauritius have been invited to attend the swearing in ceremony.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.