African Union Becomes Permanent Member Of G20 Under India's Presidency

Swarajya Staff

Sep 09, 2023, 11:07 AM | Updated 11:37 AM IST

PM Modi chairing the G20 Summit in New Delhi (Pic Via Twitter)
PM Modi chairing the G20 Summit in New Delhi (Pic Via Twitter)

In a significant development under India's G20 Presidency, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday (9 September) announced the addition of African Union as the latest permanent member of the group.

"I invite African Union President to have a seat as the permanent member of the G20," PM Modi said while chairing the G20 Summit in New Delhi.

Following PM Modi's invitation, African Union President Azali Assoumani of Comoros took his seat at the G20 leaders meeting.

The African Union comprises 55 nations, and its inclusion in the G20 is a significant milestone, making it the second-largest group of nations within the G20, following the European Union.

Prior to this, addressing the G20 summit, PM Modi said that as the president of G 20, India calls upon the world together to transform the global trust deficit into one of trust and reliance.

"This is the time for all of us to move together. In this time, the mantra of 'Sabka Saath, Sabka Vikas, Sabka Vishwas, Sabka Prayas' can be the torch bearer for us. Be it the divide between North and South, the distance between East and West, management of food and fuel, terrorism, cyber security, health, energy or water security, we will have to find a solid solution to this for future generations," he said.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.